Calls

 Call Us: 0372099593

Fatawu Alhassan
Head of Department
Alhassan Fatawu
Box 3ER, Tamale Ghana
Tamale NR
 afatawu@tatu.edu.gh
 +22324887611
 +223209313874

Administrator

Content coming soon

Department Overview

The Hospitality and Tourism Management (HTM) Department is one of the three (3) Departments in the Faculty of Applied Sciences and Technology. The department was formally called Hotel Catering and Institutional Management department (HCIM) and was renamed to its present name when the Tourism Management Programme was realigned with the department from the languages and Liberal Studies department. The Department started running the Catering Course in 1979 under the then Tamale Technical Institute. The Intermediate Catering Course was first introduced and the Advance Catering took off in 1990. The then Technical Institute was later upgraded to a Polytechnic in line with the Educational reforms. In the 2001/2002 academic year the Higher National Diploma in Hotel Catering and Institutional Management was introduced and in 2009 Higher National Diploma in Tourism Management was also introduce.

Vision

The Department of HTM vision is to be a world class center of excellence for the teaching and learning of food sciences, hospitality and tourism management programmes.

Mission

The mission of the Department is in line with Tamale Technical University strategic plan; to develop a centre of excellence for the production of capable and highly qualified manpower for the hospitality and tourism industry and a department that will remain responsive to development needs of the industry.

Aims

The aim is to produce qualified personnel with the requisite knowledge and skills for management and supervisory positions in the Hospitality Industry and to help develop and expand the Hospitality and Tourism industry to an international standard in the northern regions in particular and Ghana in general.

Objectives
  • To improve knowledge of the core subjects in management sciences applied to hospitality and tourism
  • To develop expertise in cross-cutting themes, in the interests and professional expectations of students, which contribute to the development of an applied research project and products development
  • To provide students with methods, procedures and techniques that enable them to develop their research project with a high degree of autonomy.
  • To develop the technical skills of students to enable them develop recipes using local resources
  • To develop the technical skills of students to enable them develop tourism and hospitality projects

The Department of HTM intends to contribute to the implementation of the University strategic plan by pursuing excellence in teaching, research and training progrmames. Create a favorable environment that link the University with industry.

Programmes in the Department
  • Bachelor of Technology in Hospitality Management and Catering Technology
  • Bachelor of Technology in Tourism Management
  • HND Hotel Catering and Institution Management (Full Time and Weekend)
  • HND Tourism Management
  • HND Entrepreneurship and Innovation Management
  • Professional Diploma in Tourism Management
  • Professional Diploma in Catering and Hospitality Management
  • Professional Diploma in Catering and Entrepreneurship
New Programmes
  • Bachelor of Technology in Tourism Management (4years)
  • Bachelor of Technology in Hospitality Management and Catering Technology (4years)
  • Bachelor of Technology in Food Technology (4years)
  • Higher National Diploma in Food Technology
  • Higher National Diploma in Entrepreneurship and Innovation Management
  • Diploma of Technology in Hospitality and Tourism Management
  • Diploma of Technology in Entrepreneurship and Innovation Management
  • Diploma of Technology in Food Technology
  • Certificate of Technology in Hotel Management (6 months)
Members in the Department
No. Name Email Phone Profile
1 Alhassan Fatawu falhassan@tatu.edu.gh N/a readmore
2 Dr. Hajia Adiza Sadik asadik@tatu.edu.gh +233(0)208254550 readmore
3 Adam Issah aissah@tatu.edu.gh N/a readmore
4 Abukari Majeed mabukari@tatu.edu.gh N/a readmore
5 Alhassan Yahaya ayahaya@tatu.edu.gh N/a readmore
6 Cynthia Azochiman Awuni cawuni@tatu.edu.gh N/a readmore
7 Alijata Belinda Sulemana sbalijata@tatu.edu.gh N/a readmore
8 Mohammed Yussif Alhassan myalhassan@tatu.edu.gh N/a readmore
9 Afisah Abu Jajah aafisha@tatu.edu.gh N/a readmore
10 Adamu Nina Halidu anhalidu@tatu.edu.gh N/a readmore
11 Alhassan Constance aconstance@tatu.edu.gh N/a readmore
12 Susana Antwi Boasiako N/a N/a readmore
13 Alberta Nana Adjoa Rockson ralberta@tatu.edu.gh N/a readmore
14 Dzidzor Mensah Kplorlanyie N/a N/a readmore
15 Stanley Cowther N/a sacowther@tatu.edu.gh N/a readmore
16 Nyaaba Mary N/a nmary@tatu.edu.gh N/a readmore