Calls

 Call Us: 0372099593

Musah Bukari
Head of Department
Alhaji Musah Bukari
Box 3ER, Tamale Ghana
Tamale NR
 mbukari@tatu.edu.gh
 +233(0)246512889
  View Profile
Administrator
Mrs. Helena O. Aboagyewaa
Box 3ER, Tamale Ghana
Tamale NR
 hoaboaagyewaa@tatu.edu.gh
 +233(0)248455998
Department Overview

The Industrial Art Department encourages students to develop their personal creativity and teaches them multiple possibilities of expressing aesthetic, theoretical and cultural issues in their visual representations. At the Diploma and HND level, students can specialize in Ceramics, Painting, Textiles, Graphic Design, Leatherwork as well as Sculpture and Furniture Design or study a combination of these six disciplines in the Bachelor of Technology level. Courses in the history of African Art, Entrepreneurship, Art Appreciation, Visual Psychology, Computer Aided Design among others complement our studio programmes and provide a lively intellectual cross-fertilization of theory and practice.

Programmes in the department will develop your ability to use your technical, formal, and critical thinking skills to explore the university niche area (i.e. Agricultural Engineering) through visual art. Students will also learn to see the world more clearly while they build their art and craft skills. The department always place emphasis on what must be learnt to respond to industry needs and learner interests. We also provide skills training for local craftsmen within the community. In addition, staff from our department provide guidance to our students to learn the traditional art and craft techniques with the aim of combining them with the latest digital technologies.

This challenging and engaging department is housed within specialist studios, each led by experienced teams of artists. You will engage with a range of strategies to support the development of your studio practice with an emphasis on craft, skill and critical thought.

Aims of the Department

The aim of the Industrial Art Department is to equip graduates with essential innovative technical knowledge, sustainable raw material management skills and entrepreneurial skills.

Objectives of the Department

The objectives of the department are to train students to be able to

  • Recognize local raw material, in the Ghanaian environment, for art and craft work
  • Design and develop innovative skills to support and improve methods in the art and craft industry
  • Design and produce functional and aesthetic artistic products with professional competence
  • Market artistic products
  • Initiate, supervise or manage a medium to large scale art and craft industry
  • Train and develop the skills of local art/craftsmen.
  • Teach art up to the Senior High School (SHS) level.
The Intended Outcomes of the Industrial Art Department

It is expected that graduates from this Department should be able to:

  • Generate novel ideas of value to practically solve worldly art and craft problems
  • Audit artistic designs and propose alternative approaches
  • have sufficient mastery of one or more media to complete the technical and formal challenges pertinent to a body of original work
  • Clearly communicate the content, context, and process of their work visually, orally and in writing with technical expertise using relevant tools and technologies (traditional, digital and motion modalities)
  • Apply the practices and theories of arts education and community engagement.
Programmes in the Department
  • Higher National Diploma in Industrial Art (Graphic Design, Leatherworks, Textiles,Ceramics, Painting & Sculpture)
Members in the Department
SN Name Email Phone Profile
1 Alhaji Musah Bukari mbukari@tatu.edu.gh +233(0)246512889 Profile
2 Mr. Yussif Iddrisu yiddrisu@tatu.edu.gh +233(0)247985248 Profile
3 Mr. Francis Kokro Kojo kfkojo@tatu.edu.gh +233(0)243564193 Profile
4 Mr. Lawrence Amponsah lamponsah@tatu.edu.gh +233(0)543369370 Profile
5 Alhaji Saaka Sulemana ssaaka@tatu.edu.gh +233(0)244795533 Profile
6 Mr. Baba Ahmed All-Bany aball-bany@tatu.edu.gh +233(0)243426633 Profile
7 Hajia Fatimatu Ibrahim (Mrs.) hifatimatu@tatu.edu.gh +233(0)268963566 Profile
8 Mr. Issah Mohammed Seini imseini@tatu.edu.gh +233(0)242150441 Profile
9 Mr. Dennis Atsu Dake ddatsu@tatu.edu.gh +233(0)242868216 Profile
10 Mrs. Ismail Barakatu ibarakatu@tatu.edu.gh +233(0)242933168 Profile
11 Mr. Abukari Awal aawal@tatu.edu.gh +233(0)242904048 Profile
12 Mr. Moses Salifu Cudjoe mscudjoe@tatu.edu.gh +233(0)242315946 Profile
13 Mr. Abdulai Mohammed mbdulai@tatu.edu.gh +233(0)246246002 Profile
14 Mr. Adam Salifu Mohammed Amin msadam@tatu.edu.gh +233(0)243134789 Profile
15 Mrs. Helena Oduro Aboagyewaa hoaboaagyewaa@tatu.edu.gh +233(0)248455998 Profile